October 13, 2021– Summary of our Membership Meeting (Virtual)

Thanks to all who joined us at the CUPE 4879 General Meeting October 13th via Microsoft Teams. Here is a summary of the meeting. 
New member oath of obligation:  Jaspreet Kaur

Minutes from last GM – Melissa Schuurman


Business arising from the minutes: Grievance scheduled to move to arbitration, 21-03 contracting out issue, question about which department, Lois said in IT

Motion 13-OCT-2021-G##: to accept minutes as presented

M/S/C:  Melissa Schuurman/Laszlo Nemes/All in favour

Motion 13-OCT-2021-G##: to move GR 21-03 to Arbitration

M/S/C:  Lois Rugg/Navin Jain/All in favour

Treasurer’s Report – Lois Rugg (on behalf of Lyn Ferec)

Discussion: Presented financials from June, July and August

Motion 13-OCT-2021-G##: to accept the report as presented

M/S/C:  Lois Rugg/Laszlo Nemes/All in favour

No Executive Report (no exec meetings since last GM)

Election for the Parking Advisory Committee for the remainder of the term to January 2023

Nominations: Jaspreet Kaur – accepted/acclaimed

 Election for the JJEC Committee for the remainder of the term to January 2023


  • Kamel Johal – accepted/elected
  • Sarah Aloisio – accepted

Updates from the Wellness, Innovation and Training Committee (WIT) – Melissa Schuurman

Updates from the Education Committee – Cindy Ozouf

  • CUPE 4879 scholarships coming up – keep an eye out for applications
  • Will be giving out an extra bursary (4 this year instead of the usual 3)
  • Committee meeting at the end of this month


  • Reminder about nominations meeting in November
  • KDLC Bursary applications are now available, go to website to find out more info – please sent it via Canada Post (to support postal workers) and via email
  • Thank you to everyone who came to last week’s Meet ‘n’ Greet, if you missed getting your swag bag, contact the CUPE office
  • Held a Lunch ‘n’ Learn yesterday, recording and slides will be available soon.

Good of the Union: 
Members in attendance at the meeting were entered into a draw for $100 prize and our regular $20 door prizes.  Winners were:

Turkey draw – Michael Dillon

Turkey draw – Joanne Atherton

$20 – Heather Mackay

$20 – Cindy Ozouf

Congratulations.  Connie will be in touch.