About us

CUPE 4879 is the union of support staff at Thompson Rivers University (TRU). We are a local of the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), which is the largest labour union in BC and in Canada.

The mandate of CUPE 4879 is to improve and maintain the social and economic welfare of our members, to promote efficiency in Public Employment and to give clear evidence of its recognition of the unity of organized labour (solidarity among workers and other labour organizations).

Our members work in different locations across BC, with the majority of workers in Kamloops and Williams Lake. CUPE 4879 represents 600-700 support staff at TRU. Our members are utility workers, technicians, admissions officers, electricians, carpenters, administrative assistants, library workers, course editors, production technicians, marketing, orientation leaders, advisors, and many of the student workers on campus, such as co-op students, work study students, and teaching assistants. Many of our jobs directly support students and faculty while others are more administrative or facility related.

CUPE 4879 is a democratic union. Our members determine what the union does, how it operates, what stands it takes on issues, and what goals it sets for the future. Every member of CUPE 4879 has the opportunity to participate in our union. We hold general meetings the 2nd Wednesday of the month (except July and August). We have won the right to negotiate wages and working conditions; to stop arbitrary action by the employer; and to speak out without fear of reprisal.

Contact Form

To contact the CUPE 4879 office or any of the committees, please use this contact form.

Executive and staff

CUPE 4879 Staff

Connie Angman, Executive Assistant
236-425-2141 (or Local 2141)

Connie Angman, CUPE 4879 office administrator.

Connie Angman, Executive Assistant



Your 2017-2018 Executive

Lois Rugg, President 

Lois Rugg, CUPE 4879 president.

Lois Rugg, President


Debbie Wasylyshyn, 1st Vice President


Karl Fultz, 2nd Vice President


Karl Fultz, 2nd Vice President

Lyn Ferec, Treasurer  

Lyn Ferec, CUPE 4879 executive board member.

Lyn Ferec, Treasurer

Cynthia Bosdet, Recording Secretary


Laszlo Nemes, Sgt. at Arms 


Laszlo Nemes, Sgt. at Arms



CUPE 4879 has several active committees that members can participate in during their employment.

Joint Job Evaluation Committee (JJEC)

The Joint Job Evaluation Committee (JJEC) is responsible for evaluating newly created positions and for reviewing positions submitted for re-evaluation. The committee is made up of three CUPE members appointed by election and three Administrative representatives appointed by the university President. Please see the Resources section for JJEC forms.

  • Michael Dhillon (term expires 2021)
  • Myrissa Krenzler(term expires 2020)
  • Karl Fultz (term expires 2022)

Negotiating Committee 

  • Chair: Debbie Wasylyshyn
  • Lois Rugg
  • Debbie Blackwell
  • Melissa Schuurman
  • Karl Fultz
  • Cindy Ozouf (alternate)

Grievance Committee

  • Chair: Debbie Wasylyshyn
  • Lois Rugg
  • Jackie Enders
  • Melissa Schuurman
  • Cindy Ozouf

Labour Management

  • Lois Rugg
  • Lyn Ferec
  • Kris Webb
  • Wilma DeJong
  • Mona Hall

Joint Occupational Health & Safety Reps

  • Gordon Maurits
  • Michael Dillon


  • Linda Fleck (term expires 2021)
  • Linda McAbee (term expires 2020)
  • Cristian Sonea (term expires 2022)

Education Committee

  • Cindy Ozouf (term expires 2021)
  • Cynthia Bosdet (term expires 2020)
  • Rhea Clements (term expires 2022)

Social Committee

  • Laszlo Nemes
  • Bart Cummins
  • Chris Ward
  • Linda Huntington
  • Cynthia Bosdet
  • Cindy Ozouf
  • Shannon James

Communications Committee

  • Lois Rugg (Chair)
  • Cynthia Bosdet
  • Cristian Sonea
  • Chris Ward
  • Debbie Wasylyshyn
  • Cindy Ozouf

Shop stewards

What is a shop steward?

Shop stewards are union members who have received training to represent and defend the interests of other members in the workplace, sometimes through the grievance process. They enforce the provisions of our collective agreement in the workplace and ensure that TRU is in compliance with labour laws. Stewards also share official union news and information and promote union values in the workplace.

When is it appropriate to speak with a shop steward?

Any time!

How to speak with a shop steward?

To speak with a shop steward contact Lois Rugg (President), Debbie Wasylyshyn (Grievance Committee Chair), or the CUPE office at 236-425-2141 or cupe4879@shaw.ca.

Shop stewards in Kamloops:

Lois Rugg, Lyn Ferec, Debbie Wasylyshyn, Debbie Blackwell,Karl Fultz, Ashlynn Velanna, Cynthia Bosdet, David Johnson, Chris Ward, Margaret West, Leanne Walker, Mary-Lou Stephenson, Cindy Ozouf, Erin McKee, Jackie Enders, Jennifer Crall, Melissa Schuurman, Myrissa Krenzler

Shop stewards in Williams Lake:

Rhea Clements